I Come to the Garden….

There is a beautiful hymn that says, “I come to the garden alone, while the dew is still on the roses. …….And He walks with me and He talks with me and He tells me I am His own.  And the joy we share as we tarry there, none other has ever known.”

IMG_4991[1]

I understand the context of this song, but you see, I don’t come to the garden alone very often.  And that is why it is so precious to me.  Our garden is a pretty special place to our family…..and not necessarily because of the food it provides (although that is an added benefit.)

IMG_4999

IMG_4992

 

Andy and I have had a garden every year since we got married.  And, thank goodness, we’ve gotten a little better at it every summer.  As we added kids, we just added little hands to play in the dirt, then learn to dig a hole and plant a seed, and then to harvest and help cook the bounty, and store it for the coming fall and winter.  It is one of our favorite summer traditions.

IMG_5004 IMG_5001 IMG_4993 IMG_5012 IMG_4998

It may seem silly, but our kids have gained so much from this experience.  Aside from the obvious work ethic they are learning, they will gladly eat anything they grow in the garden–tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, okra, radishes, anything that comes from their garden.

IMG_5013 IMG_5011 IMG_5003 IMG_5002

I have also seen them learn generosity from having a garden.  There isn’t a person who visits our house in the summer that doesn’t go home with a sack full of garden goodies that Abe runs out to gather.  He LOVES picking things for people to take home.

IMG_4997 IMG_4996 IMG_4994

 

They also take such pride and enjoyment in helping me cook and can things from our garden.  While it doesn’t ever make the job easier having them alongside me, it is a beautiful way to spend time together.

IMG_4987 IMG_4988 IMG_4989IMG_4986[1]

 

The hymn rings true when it says, “The joy we share as we tarry there, none other has ever known.”

IMG_6926

“Raising children is like growing a garden.  

The more love you place into it, the more it grows.”

Leave a Reply

