On Love and 11 Years

About this time 14 years ago, I told Andy I didn’t want to date him because he was like a brother to me.  (Ouch!)  2 weeks later I was driving with my mom to church and informed her that I knew I would marry him.  God works in mysterious ways, and even as I told him I didn’t want to date,  I already knew I could never live a day apart from him.  He was my best friend, the one who made me laugh, and wiped my tears, and treated me more sweetly than I knew possible.

We quickly got engaged and waited 2 (long) years to marry…May 15, 2004.  Today we celebrate 11 years married together, and God has continued to grow our love and faith through one another.  Our journey has taken us near and far, and the memories are too numerous to recount.  But, here are some of my favorites:

agape

Our first summer as youth leaders–we took about 6 middle-schoolers to Agape music festival. We had only been dating a few months. 2001

ivy

Engagement Pictures– October 2002

kiss

Our beautiful wedding day– May 15, 2004

111-1141_IMG

Honeymoon at St. John USVI–lovely to be married!

grad2

Graduation Day for both of us….and our one year anniversary! May 2005

close-up

Our first fur-baby (or whatever crazy animal people call them). 2005

100_4416

One of many beautiful hikes we have taken together– Multnomah Falls, Oregon 2006

eiffeltower

Ah, Paris….great memories lounging at the Eiffel Tower, especially when a torrential downpour left us like drowned rats and lost in the middle of the city!

england

We heart England! –2007

IMG_0221

+ Baby #1 2008

IMG_0450 (3)

+Baby #2 2009

mountain

+ Baby #3 2012

photo 1 (3)

Pursuing Baby #4…Starting the adoption process 2013

5x7

10 Year Anniversary at Grand Canyon 2014

IMG_2531

❤ I love living life with this guy. He’s my favorite. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

