Blessings-12

November 12- Life-long Friends

On my first day of Kindergarten, I got to meet my neighbor.  Misty. I climbed on the bus, and sat next to her.  As I recall, she didn’t say a word the whole way to school.  However, it didn’t take long for us to become best friends.  In fact, a few months after the quiet trip to school, we somehow convinced our bus driver that Misty was supposed to get off the bus at my house…..”her mom wanted her to.”  This was all fun and games until her mom called my mom in a panic wondering what was taking her so long to get home.  Needless to say, we didn’t do that again!  Throughout our elementary years, our dads mowed a path in the field between our houses.  In the second grade, I got glasses and we tried to convince our other classmates that the new me-with-glasses was really “Bethany’s cousin” coming to visit our school.  Somewhere around the 4th grade we formed the “Cool Girls Club” and made up a special walk.  Near the 6th grade we planned out our futures–we were going to marry brothers, move to Hawaii and share a house.  We would have a salon and work together in the basement. During junior high and high school we began to run in different circles of friends, but still remained part of each other’s lives through volleyball and school.

College came, and when I prepared to transfer to a 4 year university, Misty suggested we live together.  This worked perfectly for many reasons–no awkward adjustment to a new roommate, but also Misty and I were never the type of friends who were inseparable–who did everything together.  We were more like sisters.  We loved each other despite our faults, and we didn’t feel the need to impress each other.  I knew Misty would never bring with her friend-drama, and I knew we could live together because we already knew what it was like to spend a ton of time in each other’s homes.  

My friend Misty has experienced a great deal of loss in recent years, and she has been a beautiful example to me of living through grief with grace and faith.  Today we spent the day together.  It had been almost 2 years since we really just spent time together.  It was so great  to be able to reconnect and watch our kiddos play together the way we used to play with each other.  Today I am thankful for her– my life-long friend.

IMG_3219[1]

IMG_3218[1]

IMG_3222[1]

Leave a Reply

