Blessings-3

November 3- Turnips

IMG_3168[1]

Turnips? Yes.

The last few years Andy and I have planted a fall garden, and loved the fruits (and vegetables) of our labor.  This year we couldn’t make the time to get turnips, radishes, carrots, pumpkins, gourds, ect. planted in time.  I’ve already missed it.  Thankfully, when we went trick or treating at my Grandma and Grandpa’s, they had more than just treat bags for the kids.  My grandpa had two “big” treat bags of turnips for me.  Beautiful, dark purple turnips.  As a gal who had never tasted a turnip before the age of 29, I have fallen in love with them the last 3 years.  Nothing (nothing!) gives a house a better aroma than turnips and butter simmering on the stove.  Tonight, my house smells like Thanksgiving, and I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

