Drip. Drip. Drip.

“A nagging wife is like water going drip-drip-drip.”

Proverbs 19:13b

Drip. Drip. Drip.

The sound has been constant these last few weeks.  My husband (though he would never say so) would agree there’s been a dripping.  My children would interpret this verse to be “A nagging mother is like water going drip, drip, drip.”  It seems that no matter how hard I try to fight the nagging, it keeps creeping in.  I will tell myself I am going to be kind, I am going to focus on praising good behavior MORE than beating down the bad behavior, and then slow and steady the nagging returns.

IMG_6644

I feel like someone needs to send me back to Mothering 101, reminding me that kids will be kids and I should let it be; Remind me to choose my battles wisely because not everything is worth the battle.  I’ve somehow decided that everything is worthy of me being up in arms right now.  After finishing about 15 loads of laundry yesterday, I spent a good hour cleaning out all my baby boy’s drawers and placing the fresh, fluffy, folded clothes in his dressers.  This afternoon after school, he proudly came into the living room dragging a duffle bag behind him.  EVERY. ITEM. OF. CLOTHES. HE. OWNED. was stuffed in the duffle bag.  He was prepared for a big adventure, but I was prepared for battle.

Science fair project messes….drip.

Andy coming home late from work…drip.

Cora covered in Sharpie (again)…..drip.

I’m not sure if it’s worsened by the days upon weeks upon months of being in our home waiting for the great thaw, but it is certainly an outpouring of my heart right now.   Matthew 12:34 says,

For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.

Yuck.  That’s what my heart is full of? Nagging?  It’s an ironic thing– when I slip away from the acknowledgement of the grace I’ve been shown, I tend to show less grace.

IMG_3501

Today is Ash Wednesday.  I grew up in the Catholic church, but decided to follow the Protestant path more as an adult.  There was a time during this transition, I brushed off the “rules” of Lent as legalism.  Yet, the past few years I’ve come back to appreciate the beauty of understanding my needs vs wants, my luxuries in the light of poverty, the false idea that I can control things about myself, my weaknesses in comparison to His strength.  I’ve come to see Lent as so much more than not drinking soda for 40 days and not eating meat on Fridays.  I’ve come to see that it is the preparation of my heart to more fully grasp the sacrifice Christ made for me.  It is a time to draw near to Him, to serve His people, to draw on His strengths, to put aside my excess for the opportunity to help those with not enough.

I find it timely that God revealed these things about my heart today–the day we prepare to receive His grace as yet another Easter approaches.  Today is the day to remember the grace, and to GIVE the grace to others.

Out of his fullness we have all received grace upon grace…

John 1:16

May your hearts all know the grace you have been given by our Savior, and may we join together to share that grace with a world that doesn’t know it.

One thought on “Drip. Drip. Drip.

  1. Nancy Sutton says:

    Bethany, I KNOW you as a mother and see you interact with your children. You are a wonderful mother and don’t let the devil tell you otherwise. I remember being so frustrated when my kids were younger. Figured I might as well start off yelling at them as time had proven that they weren’t going to listen until I yelled. I didn’t like myself either. But even with all my failures, the hugs would come at the right times, both from them and me, and we would start afresh….just like God gives us a fresh start every morning. Keep on what you’re doing, as you’re doing a WONDERFUL job. I admire you greatly!!

Leave a Reply

