It’s All Bulgarian to Me

So, I’ve mentioned once or twice that Bulgaria is not completely foreign to me.  I have traveled to two of it’s largest cities, and seen the countryside along the way.  I know a bit of its history, its people and culture, its food, and a handful (seriously, no more than that) of its language.  I learned a few little phrases when I traveled there 13 years ago and a couple have stuck with me.  The funny thing is, I bought a “Teach yourself Bulgarian” book before I went on my trip, and after Andy and I got married I donated it to the local library with a stack of other books.  I didn’t think, in a million years, that I would ever need that book again.  A few years later, we went to the annual book sale a the library and I saw it for sale for 10 cents.  I laughed and showed Andy saying something like, “I’m pretty sure no one in Norris City will EVER buy this book.  It’s not exactly a commonly used language around these parts!”  Well, I’ll be darned if I don’t need that book back now.  I’ve gone to every book sale scouring the shelves to buy my book back, but to no avail.  The poor librarians just smile and tell me it will probably show up in a box at some point. (Friends in Norris City, if you see that little yellow book, grab it for me!!!!)

Well, I feel that one of the best ways we can transition when we bring our child home is to be able, on some level, to communicate with them.  However, it proves difficult to learn a language when you have no one to practice it with whom can correct you.  Rosetta Stone has great programs, but alas, no Bulgarian.  So, I’ve opted for the second best (and MUCH easier) route of buying a “Bulgarian Phrases CD.”  It is a CD specifically designed for adopting parents, and has about 75 useful phrases and questions to use the first few weeks with your child.  Things like,

I am your momma forever.

We are going home.

We are going to get on the airplane.

Do you need to go potty?

Are you hungry? Thirsty?

It’s okay. I love you.

The CD arrived last week, and I’ve been listening to it while I do chores around the house.  The kids are fascinated by it.  The funny thing is that true Bulgarians are teaching the phrases. so they say the phrases in Bulgarian first then repeat the translation in English, but with a Bulgarian accent.  Addy and Abe somehow decided that speaking the English phrases with a Bulgarian accent would prove to be much easier, while Cora is going to be a pro at it!  Here’s a little glimpse into Cora’s latest Bulgarian lesson.

 

With prayer and dedication Andy and I (and the kids to an extent) are hoping to master these phrases, and while we won’t likely be able to understand much Bulgarian conversation, we can at least survive our first few weeks with yes or no questions and a lot of “Obicham Te.”

il_570xN.518845607_2eb9

“I love you” in Bulgarian

3 thoughts on “It’s All Bulgarian to Me

  1. Sheri says:

    My friend made a little photo album with pictures of common things. A potty , a drink , bed, toys etc. so Miah could point to things in the book. She also did sign language even though Miiah isn’t hearing impaired.

  2. Bethany says:

    Sheri–yes, we heard about using flashcards at one of our trainings…I LOVE the idea for a young child!!!
    Misty- yes, she can. Just not English! 🙂

Leave a Reply

