Grateful

Last January, I (among a zillion other people) read the book “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp.  I’m not usually a person who latches onto a book or idea, but this book truly changed my view of the world and my purpose in it.  It challenged me to re-evaluate the daily blessings the Lord has placed before me, to find joy in those blessings, and to respond with praise and gratefulness.  For those unfamiliar with the book, Ann shares her journey to writing 1,000 gifts and along the way discovers so much more.  I also began to feel challenged, as I have various times in my life, to write down the blessings as an act of worship and remembrance of what the Lord has done in my life.

Psalm 50:23 says:

“He who sacrifices thank offerings honors Me, and he prepares the way so that I may show him the salvation of God.”

I LOVE in the Bible when it talks about the memorial stones used by the Israelites after passing over the Jordan.  The Israelites weren’t able to sit and write in gratitude journals during the journey God had them on, but God wanted them to have a physical reminder of His love and blessing over them.  After they passed through the Jordan, Joshua told the people:

“… take up each of you a stone upon his shoulder, according to the number of the tribes of the people of Israel, that this may be a sign among you. When your children ask in time to come, ‘What do those stones mean to you?’ then you shall tell them that the waters of the Jordan were cut off before the ark of the covenant of the Lord. …So these stones shall be to the people of Israel a memorial forever.” Joshua 4: 5-7

There is value in having something physical to remind usof the gifts God has  given us…something to pull out in hard times and read and know the Lord is always good.  I haven’t yet perfected this art of thanksgiving, but I am challenged to be more grateful and truly SEE the gifts in every little thing.  In addition to writing gifts down the past 10 months, I’ve also captured some with my camera. With the beautiful holiday of Thanksgiving coming up, I thought it would be appropriate to share just a few of the ways God has proven His love for me.  I hope you enjoy and are encouraged to make  “memorial stones” of your own.

Happy Thanksgiving!

IMG_9101

#539 Tonka trucks in the sand

IMG_9005

#520 Spring green curling out of the ground

IMG_9034

#526 The buzzing of honeybees working hard on white plum blossoms

IMG_9096

#533 The hands that mend fence and hold my heart

IMG_5058

Carefree kite flying at the end of summer

IMG_9152

#534 Cowboy boots and tricycles

IMG_7844

#287 Snowflakes sticking to the old wooden fence

abe2

Bundling up as a family and preparing the winter ground for spring

IMG_9158

#540 The tiny curls at the nape of her neck

IMG_6596

Rainbow girl skipping home

IMG_9093

Forsythia–the trumpet call of spring!

IMG_4281

The kids’ backyard “treasures”

IMG_4252

Little girls and their “friends”

IMG_7959

#359 An eagle soaring in the snowy sky

IMG_0677 (2)

#714 Dreaming of the miles and the memories our family will see in the “new” old Airstream

IMG_8257

Artwork on rainy days

IMG_8243

Finally, a baby with my dark brown eyes

IMG_0800b

#668 The hope and prospect of another child joining our family

Leave a Reply

